|
Microsoft Award Promotion Winner!
I received 966 of my Microsoft Award Promotion winning e-mail this morning! And I
won it in their Microsoft New year Bonaza EMAIL DRAW! (Their spelling not mine!)
I guess they really wanted me to make sure I know I won!
And in case I didn't understand what a winner was, they made sure I knew I was also a
wenner! (I guess that's better than being a whinner or a weiner!)
And all I have to do to collect my £1,000,000.00 GBP is to send them my Full Name; Home Address;
Country of residence; Occupation: and Contact Phone Number to their contact person: Mr. Lewis Desmond
at gaminghouse125@hotmail.com! (And yes, I made that
a legitimate mailto link because spam bots will pick up this e-mail address and this person will
start getting spammed! Just returning the favor pal! So DO NOT send any mail to that address!)
I wonder what they'll need for me to collect? Do you suppose maybe they'll want my bank account
information so they can direct deposit my winnings? Or maybe they'll need my PayPal account and
login information so they can verify who I really am?
So here's what all 966 e-mails say:
You have won £1,000,000.00 GBP in the recent email drawof the Microsoft New year Bonaza EMAIL DRAW. you are advise to contact your claims department with the below informations.Full Name;Home Address; Country of residence; occupation: Contact Phone Number;Contact Person: Mr. Lewis Desmond E-mail:gaminghouse125@hotmail.com.

What is the purpose of this? Why send me all this junk mail? What do you hope to gain from
sending hundreds of the same e-mail to me - other than ticking me off? I mean, what's the point?
Okay, so I'm ticked as you can tell. So here's the information I see in my e-mail headers and I am going to show you how to find a spammer!
Now, I've learned everything I know from Steve Gibson and GRC and he says:
"...because our [mail] server would have connected to the second SMTP
server. Instead, you see the IP address of the zombie machine. And so on..."
So, if my mice SMTP server would need to connect to the last "Received by" server,
that would make the offending e-mail being sent by the IP address of: 209.226.175.112
Ok, then I take that IP address and plug into a reverse domain look-up at: What is my IP
and this is what I get:
So, if you are a TomTS who uses bellnexxia.net as your DSL provider, and you live somewhere
near Dunlop Street NW and Milligan's Pond in Barrie Ontario Canada, you need to clean up your computer!
And as for me, by the time I completed writing this, I had a total of 1165 e-mails from this relentless bot. So, I have
nothing else to do but retire my one company e-mail address for now.
But that is how you find, trace, trace back, back track, or otherwise locate a spammer!
I hope this helps you!
|